Let’s Go Away For A While…

by

3191 Miles Apart had a great post a few weeks ago about “packing a bag, leaving your home and venturing out into the world.” I thought the premise behind these tips was oh-so-inspirational and definitely worth sharing – not just for holidays but for work travel as well.  Here are her tips, with my input.

 ••• Pack Only Your Favorite Items (And Pack Slim)
I have my work-related trip packing down (Black pants? Check. Sensible (i.e. convention center friendly) shoes? Check.). It’s the fun trips I can get a bit befuddled (ten outfits for 3 days? YES!).  Regardless, my goal is to get everything I need into one carry-on bag. That’s it. As 3191 Miles Apart said, “If you love to wear it, bring it, period.”

••• Meet New Friends
I try to resist the temptation to hole up in my hotel room and eat (not very delicious) room service. After all, I’m usually in a great city with an amazing variety of restaurants at my fingertips. This is the perfect chance to schedule a meal with a vendor you’ve worked with but never had the chance to meet.  I’ve even found that you can hear plenty of interesting stories from your fellow road warriors when you’re out and about too.

••• Take Photographs of Yourself In Places You Love
I’ll take it straight from 3191 Miles Apart on this one – “This one is so simple it almost didn’t make the list. It’s sort of silly in fact. What can I say? I like to take photographs of myself in some of my favorite spots so that I have those images and I can see that I was there. It helps me, a very visual person, transport myself back to those moment and therefore those feelings. It’s a lovely way to savor where you’ve been and an easy way to bring back smell, light, sound and color.” 100% agreed. I’ve taken a gazillion pictures of scenic vistas, dreamy forests and statuesque buildings – only later to not really remember where I even took the picture.  

••• Eat Whatever You Want
Now, for event planners this should be taken with a grain of salt. Those tables piled high with pretzels and cake and cheese? STAY AWAY – too many events in a row and those pants start to feel a bit snug :). For me, this line is about tasting what the city has to offer – a more “Eat Pray Love” mentality. That means if I’m in NYC, I’m going to buy a bag of roasted nuts and search out the nearest Pinkberry (don’t judge – they don’t have them in the NW). If I’m in San Francisco, I’m headed straight to Blue Bottle Coffee and the Ferry Market for a little chocolate (Recchiuti), a little cheese (Cowgirl), and a little lunch (Boulette’s or Gott’s).

••• Bring & Wear A New Scent
This is definitely a vacation line item for me – and not so much a work trip recommendation.  But it does work – every time I spritz on the perfume I bought for my wedding, I instantly remember minute little details about that day. Why wouldn’t the same be true for a vacation?

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

