My Five Favorite Dishes

by

Coming up with only five favorite dishes was difficult for me, but I managed to pare the list down to the list below.  I think the key for me is the association I have with the meal – who I was with and where I was.  In no particular order…

Nantucket Bay Scallops – Bacchanalia, Atlanta

There is nothing I don’t like on the prix fixe menu here, but my favorite main dish is the Nantucket Bay Scallops, perfectly complimented by roasted cauliflower and baby carrots, all lightly coated in preserved lemon butter.  And perhaps the best part of the meal is the main dish is preceded by an amazing Gulf Crab Fritter with citrus Thai pepper essence and followed by a Pear Brown Butter Tart topped with maple ice cream.  The perfect portion sizes, stellar service and complimentary flavors make this one of my favorite restaurants.

Chicago Style Hot Dog – Hot Doug’s, Chicago

I spent my formative years in a suburb of Chicago, and one of my favorite memories as a kid was heading to Dick’s Dogs in Hanover Park, IL.  Long gone, the closest substitute I’ve found is Hot Doug’s, which serves the Chicago Dog the way it’s supposed to be – with yellow mustard, green relish, chopped onions, tomato wedges, pickle spear, sport peppers and celery salt.  Most importantly, no ketchup. 

Roast Main Lobster – Gary Danko, San Francisco

It’s hard to find a lobster dish that blows me away, after all, its lobster and it’s always good. But until I tried this lobster, perfectly partnered with potato puree, chanterelle mushrooms and edamame, I don’t know that I’d ever experienced anything quite so amazing. 

 All-Star Special – Waffle House, USA

I may have been able to avoid picking up a southern accent during my nearly 20 years in Atlanta, but Waffle House is something I embraced immediately. In fact, on a recent new business trip to Phoenix the highlight was that my hotel was across the street from the WH!  The entire WH experience is something to enjoy, but what keeps me coming back is the food.  Who can resist two eggs over medium, hash browns scattered, smothered and covered and a waffle?

 Yum Gai Ta-Krai – Thai Lotus, Vancouver, WA

Salads are always good, but very rarely do I crave one. That is until I tried the Lemongrass Chicken Salad at Thai Lotus just across the river from Portland.  This most amazing dish of lemongrass marinated grilled chicken breast with lettuce, onion, chopped fresh lemongrass and cilantro in a light lime dressing keeps me crossing the WA/OR border on a regular basis.  The flavors mix perfectly together in a tangy sweet fresh taste that has me wanting more every time.  And as a bonus, it’s good for your skin!

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

