It’s Official…I’m a Kindle Fanatic

by

I spent months trying to decide whether or not to purchase a Kindle.  On the one hand, I LOVE gadgets of all shapes and sizes, and the Kindle definitely appealed to that part of me.  On the other hand, I am a book junkie and can spend hours in an independently owned bookstore – I love the smell, the crowded shelves and finding new authors and books to read.

Around the holidays my need to have a new gadget over-rode my need to visit bookstores and I cashed in some Amazon Gift Cards and made the big purchase.  Lucky for me, Amazon was offering free overnight shipping on the Kindle, so when I arrived home from work the next day, there was a small box waiting at my doorstep.

From the moment I opened the box, I knew I’d made the right choice.  I charged it up and waited somewhat impatiently for the next hour for the little green light to come on indicating it was fully charged.  I turned it on and was instantly impressed with how intuitive it was to use.  Within minutes, I was online ordering my first book, which downloaded in 30 seconds.

I’ve since read 5 books on my Kindle, and I take it with me everywhere– from Las Vegas to the doctor’s office and even to a dinner sitting at the bar (something I end up doing frequently when traveling and don’t want to be stuck with room service.)  Obviously I love the Kindle’s portability, but I’m also appreciative of the fact that I can download a book from anywhere, which when traveling is fantastic as I don’t always know where or have time to visit the local bookstore.  I also love that I can get periodicals and blogs on my Kindle, which means it’s so much easier for me to keep up with what’s going on in the world of events and PR.  Other great features?  It’s green – no trees are harmed in reading a book on a Kindle.  It feels good in my hands.  I can take notes, look up words in the dictionary instantly, and even read books for free.  And the battery life is fantastic, as long as you remember to turn off the wireless unless you’re downloading. 

So far the only negative I’ve found is that I don’t feel very comfortable reading on the Kindle in the tub.  But that gives me reason to visit local bookstores.

Do you have a Kindle?  Why or why not?

Tags: , , , ,

6 Responses to “It’s Official…I’m a Kindle Fanatic”

  1. Cliff Burns Says:

    I’m a child of the Space Age so the new-fangled gadgets of the Information Age often leave me cold. But I must say these e-Readers have offered fantastic opportunities to writers like me, who have given up on traditional publishing and embraced the indie publishing movement. We release our work on the web (or via print-on-demand), make our novels, reviews, short fiction and verse available to one and all. The folks with the Kindles, Sony e-Readers and the soon-to-be Apple “Tablet” are the best clientele we could possibly ask for: hip, savvy, smart, with some disposable income and a taste for the printed word.

    Whatever the reading platform–Kindle or tattered paperback–it’s great to see more and more people reading. Gives hope to poor, starving authors everywhere…

  2. wendyhustonwehaveasolution Says:

    Great point, Cliff, and one I hadn’t thought of. As someone who frequently seeks out the small, independent publishers for the opportunity to read something unique, I appreciate the comments. I’m getting on-line now to see what I can find!

  3. Cliff Burns Says:

    Finding good on-line fiction can be hit and miss but when one discovers a writer who has flown under the radar because of his/her unique approach to their work, the originality and innovation of the prose, it’s an exciting feeling.

    It’s “Read An E-Book Week” coming up, so perhaps this site, with all its free fiction to download, will be of some use to you (and your readers):

    http://www.ebookweek.com

  4. wendyhustonwehaveasolution Says:

    Thanks for the link, Cliff. I’m finding it to be a great resource!

  5. Cliff Burns Says:

    Enjoy!

  6. Friday Free For All « Work Shoe Blisters Says:

    […] at Target! I love my Kindle, and now it’s easier for everyone to get, on sale Monday at a Target near […]

Leave a Reply

