Bizarre Beds

by

The other day I was flipping through Bettina Kowalewski’s new book, Bed in a Tree and Other Amazing Hotels From Around the World and I was amazed by the locations she referenced.  Of course, there is the ‘bed in a tree’ at the Lion Sands, a five-star safari lodge in a private game reserve, about which  Kowalewski comments, “For me, it’s a dream to sleep in the middle of nature with no walls.  I saw two rhinos right beneath me.  It is not a zoo.”

Other interesting options include the Dog Bark Inn in Cottonwood, Idaho, where Sweet Willie, a wooden beagle, stands 33 feet high and you are able to dine in his stomach; or the Icehotel in Jukkasjarvi, Sweden, that is rebuilt every winter entirely from ice; or The Capsule Hotel in The Hague, Netherlands, which is actually a repurposed escape capsule from an offshore oil rig floating in an urban canal.

My personal favorite, is Les Roulottes in Ouroux, France, where you get to join the circus.  Located in the heart of Beaujolais wine country, this hotel is really three roulettes, or gypsy wagons, once used by traveling circuses.  The wagons are parked in a meadow next to a stone chateau, where meals are served. 

It’s a book that’s fun and easy to read, and certainly a great conversation starter.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Bizarre Beds”

  1. beagle dog training Says:

    I’m not recieving the error anymore, but it was impossible for me to get on your website yesterday. My browser would just load a blank page with nothing on it. I don’t know, maybe it just my computer spazzing out.

    • wendyhustonwehaveasolution Says:

      We’ll look into it – thanks for letting us know! And thank you for keeping up with us here at WSB!

Leave a Reply

