The Best of Bellevue and Seattle…So Far

by

As an intern for the Events Services team here at the agency and a new resident of the Seattle area, I thought it would be interesting to share my perspective on the “Best of Seattle” thus far as a guest blogger.

An Oregon native, I’ve seen and done just about everything there is to do in the Portland area – events, concerts, restaurants, nightlife and outdoor activities.  While I’ve always said I would love to live in a bigger city, I never dreamed this opportunity would come so soon – or so unexpectedly.  When offered a position in the Bellevue, Washington just one month ago, I took the opportunity in a heartbeat and vowed to see and experience everything the Seattle area has to offer.

Evenings and weekends have been great opportunities to explore Bellevue, Seattle and surrounding areas. 

Since moving here, happy hour has become a weekly occurrence, and Bellevue has no shortage restaurants with great happy hour selections.  Barrio, a beautiful and dimly lit restaurant has excellent food – I recommend the tortilla soup – and a good happy hour menu every evening between 3 and 6.  Just be sure to get there early because the wait can easily be an hour or more.  For a more casual happy hour, Rock Bottom has the lowest prices around for drinks and food until 6 p.m.  Just around the corner, Tap House offers 160 beers on tap, and select food items are reasonably priced during happy hour.  This is also a pretty casual crowd, and it gets packed fast, so try to make your way in here by 5 p.m.

When it comes to Seattle, I’ve come to find Capitol Hill is a great place to explore and meet people on the weekends.  Drawing a younger crowd, Linda’s Tavern – fondly called “Linda’s” by everyone in the area – is known for its good food and laidback atmosphere.  Everyone I’ve come across has, at the very least, heard of Linda’s and most have been there to experience it themselves.  Also in Capitol Hill is Chapel.  With a great happy hour, this dark, swankier little place features lots of seating, dancing and a VIP loft upstairs.

 “SAM Remix” – a nighttime event at the Seattle Art Museum – is among my top Seattle experiences thus far, featuring upbeat music, live entertainment, fabulous exhibits, dancing, two full bars and an interesting and diverse crowd.  Taking place on select Fridays, this is certainly an event I’ll attend again in the future.

Aside from the nightlife, I’ve also tried to take advantage of activities in and around Seattle.  Although I’d done it as a child with my family, I decided I needed the “ferry” experience again.  My first weekend here, I took a day trip to the charming town of Winslow via the Bainbridge ferry.  With gorgeous views of the water and Seattle skyline, great food and nearly everything in walking distance, my day on the island was fun-filled and the perfect getaway on a brisk Saturday. 

Next on my list of places and things to explore are Kirkland, Issaquah and more of Seattle.  There’s no limit to what can be experienced here, and I’m eager to continue adding to my list of “favorites.”

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

