What’s In a Name?

by

A lot actually, especially in our line of work. Remembering someone’s name is what makes them feel important, like they matter and does wonders for getting last minute AV, connectivity, furniture, signage, etc.

Lately, I’ve had a couple strange incidents around people remembering my name and it’s been a great reminder of the importance of remembering others names.

Scenario #1: An acquaintance whom I’ve met no less than nine times, introduces herself to me every time we meet. We  don’t know each other well so I don’t necessarily expect her to remember my name, but it would be great if she at least acknowledged that we’ve met. It’s finally gotten so awkward that I actually called her out on that the last time we ran into each other. I certainly don’t ever want to put a client or a contact in that position so I try to at least say “I know we’ve met, but I’m sorry I can’t remember your name” when put in a similar position. I figure if I can remember your face, you ought to be able to remember mine. CNN also did a great article a few years ago on tricks to remembering names, check it here.

Photo courtesy of Wrong Name Cartoons

Photo courtesy of Wrong Name Cartoons

Scenario #2: I’m in the process of planning my own wedding (which is probably a post or two by itself), but after going to my wedding venue for a site visit and putting down my deposit check, I received an email from the venue coordinator addressed the wrong bride! Poor form! It immediately made my confidence in their ability to run my event successfully drop and now I feel like I’m going to have to babysit them a bit more than I originally expected. Just goes to show that it’s worth double checking the spelling and address prior to sending that email.

I have a crazy memory and am able to remember things that aren’t easy for most people, but in this line of work I’d recommend doing whatever it takes to double check that name as it can mean the difference between a recommendation or a negative review.

Leave a Reply

